Amazon River Cruise Information - Jungle Blog.jpg

Visa & Reciprocity Fees for Brazil, Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia and Argentina

  |   Tourism

The Galapagos Islands, the Amazon Rainforest and Machu Picchu are just a few destinations that are high-up on many travel bucket-lists. Due to the remote locations of these destinations, they are often once-in-a-lifetime adventures. It's important to be well aware of all visa and reciprocity fee requirements prior to travel, to avoid any disappointments. Read on to find out what a reciprocity fee is and learn about visa and reciprocity fees for Brazil, Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia and Argentina. 


What is a Reciprocity Fee?

In layman's terms, a reciprocity fee is a visa issuance fee charged to citizens of a certain country (let's call it A) by the country they wish to visit (let's call it B) because the country they are a citizen of (A) impose a similar fee on citizens of that country (B) for similar types of visas when they want to visit their country (A). These reciprocal charges give the fees their name.


brazil visa



If you are a citizen of the United Kingdom, you do not require a visa to enter Brazil. Most European Union country citizens also do not require a visa. There is no reciprocity fee.


Canadian, Australian and U.S. passport holders however do require a visa to enter Brazil. Applications must be submitted ahead of time, as they might take a few weeks to be processed and approved. The visa application cannot be rushed, and there is a US$160 reciprocity fee.

You must apply at the Brazilian Consulate in your country and follow their instructions and requirements. 

Starting January 2018, Brazil will use an E-VISA program, making the visa application for Brazil quicker and more convenient. The foreign applicant may apply for the E-VISA and obtain it remotely, via the website:

The electronic visa system is planned to begin operating for the following countries on the following dates:  

Australia: started the operation on November 21, 2017  
Japan: January 11, 2018  
Canada: January 18, 2018  
USA: January 25, 2018  

The Brazilian E-VISA will be paid for online and will cost USD 40. Payment can be made via Mastercard, Visa or Union Pay. The visa will be valid for two years from the date of issue and the process should take an average of five working days. 

The electronic visa holder will be required to present a printed copy to the airline in order to board their flight to Brazil. 


How to apply for a Brazilian E-Visa


peru visa



If you are a citizen of the Unites States, Canada, Australia, United Kingdom or the European Union, you do not require a visa to enter Peru. As such, there is no reciprocity fee for these nationalities. 


However, there are a few rules to keep in mind:

  • Travelers need a passport valid at least half a year with at least 2 free pages in the visa section when entering Peru
  • The maximum stay in Peru on a tourist visa is 183 days per year
  • Peruvian tourist visas are single entry visas only
  • Travelers will need to show a proof of return ticket 



ecuador visa



United Kingdom, Canadian, Australian, European Union and U.S. citizens do not require a visa to enter Ecuador when staying no longer than 90 days. Ecuador does require that you travel with a passport that is valid for at least 6 months. As such, there no reciprocity fee for these nationalities. 

Those traveling to the Galapagos Islands will be required to pay a US$100 Galapagos Park fee and a US$20 transit control card fee. 

As of 2018, Ecuador requires a proof of travel insurance upon entry. Travelers may be refused entry if they cannot provide proof of insurance. 


Bolivia VIsa



Canadian, Australian, UK and European Union citizens do not require a visa to enter Bolivia for a stay of up to 90 days. There is no reciprocity fee. 

U.S. Citizens do require a visa to enter Bolivia. The visa can be obtained prior to travel, or upon arrival. The reciprocity fee is US$160 and travelers must present proof of hotel stay, or a letter of invitation.



argentina visa



U.S. Citizens and Canadian Citizens do not require a visa to enter Argentina when staying up to 90 days. They do not need to pay a reciprocity fee when entering Argentina (as of January 1, 2018).

Australian Citizens do not need a visa to enter Argentina, for a stay no longer than 3 months, and they do not need to pay a reciprocity fee.

UK and European Union citizens do not require a visa to enter Argentina when staying for no longer than 90 days. They are not required to pay a reciprocity fee. 


All travelers must present a passport valid for 6 months beyond your stay. 



The information above is given in good faith and is accurate to the best of our knowledge as of 25 Oct 2017. Please note that Visa and Reciprocity fee requirements regularly change. It is the traveler's responsibility to  check with their local consulate to check any requirements prior to travel. 


We hope this solves any questions you may have regarding visa and reciprocity fees for Brazil, Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia and Argentina. For any other questions, please fee free to contact us or give us a call: 1-888-215-3555.

Other Blog Posts You Might Like:

About Rainforest Cruises

Rainforest Cruises is a boutique travel company specializing in Amazon river cruises, Galapagos Islands tours, and Southeast Asia cruises. We provide you with the finest collection of cruises in Peru, Brazil, Ecuador, Bolivia, Panama and Southeast Asia. As travel experts we have all the advice you need to help you find and book your dream cruise and an unforgettable adventure.